Was the real reason for religion, the policing of humanity?

** I understand Religion and God are highly sensitive issues and therefore at the onset I would like to say that I am religious myself and I do not intend to offend anyone with this post. **

Having said that, lately I have been wondering if the real reason for Religion is the policing of humanity? I remember being raised as a child in a very religious home where my parents and family would say to me, “don’t lie, you know Jesus is watching you”, “don’t steal, Jesus can see everything”. I grew up going to a Sunday School, which is “Kid’s Church” where kids would taught Bible stories and biblical lessons in an entertaining way, well or they tried at least.

We learnt songs one of which went like this:

“O be careful little eyes what you see

O be careful little eyes what you see

There’s a Father up above

And He’s looking down in love

So, be careful little eyes what you see.”

The word eyes in the song was then replaced with ears – what you hear, feet – where you go, Mouth- what you say etc.

Obviously there were other songs and yes I enjoyed doing the actions, singing along, dancing coloring etc. however I remember being in school as a little girl and always being careful. I knew that bad people went to hell and stayed there burning for eternity and telling a lie was a sin, that Eve was cast away from the beautiful land because she sinned and I would too if I was BAD! There were so many things I was told God would punish me for, and honestly I it worked! I was scared and I usually didn’t sin i was a good policed young girl. Until one day I did sin and realized it didn’t have any massive repercussions and so it went on, like all children do, I learnt that every lie doesn’t catch up with me and only some did.

I’m not a child anymore and Religion being the only real way of policing children that I know of , I’m beginning to wonder…. If you don’t subscribe to Religion then how do you police your children, do you scare them with an imaginary boogie man who’s going to get them or say that their noses will get longer like Pinocchio? (Though that might not be very successful in the long run!)

Is religion really what keeps us on the straight and narrow, is my ingrained Christian values what makes me a good human being and is that is REALLY why we must all believe in a God, the super-Boogie Man who is eventually coming to get all human kind?

My question really then is: Is God the ultimate Boogie Man?

 

 

 

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

