The other side of 25

I am on the other side of 25, the not so nice side the one that approaches the 3 and closing in on at the ends. I have a realisation that this is not a desirable position to be in, I have a few friends who are on the other side of the mid position. I have seen their eyes when they remember I’m not in their side, their eyes widen “yeah, you need to sort out your life they say”. Sometimes it makes me laugh, I used to think that when I got to my age I’d be old but now that I’m here I don’t feel very old. I guess hence goes the adage ‘you are only as old as you feel’, ‘age is just a number’ etc. I don’t think it is just a number, however I do think the older you get the less you should allow it to affect you.

I don’t have any advisers now, I’ve lost friends along the way and I’ve also moved away from some good friends, the people who keep you in check. The ones you know you need to say hey, you’re loosing it. The ones you trust. Ive never been told the importance of having a support system, as the wise one calls it. I was brought up being told that I needed to be independent and fend for myself, whilst ironically also being told that when I was old enough my parents would find me the right man and he’d look after me. I’m Asian indian you see. That should explain it.

There’s an irony there, if you an Asian woman in a more modern (and I say this in the most cautious of terms, my parents are in no way modern, perhaps just not the honour killing types), they expect this man to come bearing gifts. They scrap the dowry system for something more current as it suits them, to find a man for you to marry who comes bearing wealth so that they don’t have to pay for anything. It’s convenience. Anyways, I digress.

What does it take to be a successful over 25 year old? What kind of advice can one be given that will help make the transition smooth and gentle. How do you survive with no support system how do you create a new support system? Does anybody know the answers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

